Open Fire

Battlefront is getting into the starter set game with ‘Open Fire!’  This seems to be a intro box with all the gear folks need to play the game.  In addition to miniatures, (I assume) dice, and hobby book, this box includes a new wave of plastic miniatures.

Image

Para troopers supported by British Sherman tanks face off against the Wermacht infantry, guns, and Stug tanks.  There also appears to be a V-2 rocket launcher!  I am guessing that this is something of an objective, or mission plot point.

I like the idea of these starter sets.  They really give players a way to get into the game, and with Flames of War, that may seem like a daunting task.  The continued evolution of BF’s plastics is exciting as well.  These are some of the most appealing plastic infantry that I have seen to date, and are much cleaner, and effective than some of Battle Front’s metal line.

I’m a bigtime FoW fan-boy, so I am excited about this release, and I can’t wait to see where it leads!

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

One thought on “Open Fire”

  1. Actually it’s a V-1 launcher, but since it’s just a scenery piece (albeit a pretty cool one) it doesn’t really matter.

    The only bad part about this set is as an established player of German grenadiers I already have all the StuGs and PaK40s that I need. For somebody who is just starting out though, I think it’s probably going to be a good entry point to the game.

Leave a Reply

