Norman Invasion!

Recently I have become infatuated by historicals, and have been making some progress on a Norman/Early Crusader army. The plan is that the army will be used for late Dark Ages battles up to the battles of the Kingdom of Jerusalem after the 1st Crusade. This project has been very satisfying after some recent frustrations with my miniature hobbies. The Warriors of Chaos army has become a burn, and I still need to figure out what the heck I want to do with my Legion of Everblight minis for Hordes. The US armor project for Flames of War has been going well, but I simply haven’t put much time in to it lately. I have a significant obligation with the Norman project, as many of the minis were provided to me as part of a campaign army that will be part of a large event happening at Adepticon 2012.

So far the army consists of…

  • 12x Norman Knights
  • 12x Mercenary Cavalry (Medium Cavalry)
  • 24x Spear Heavy Infantry
  • 24x Spear Heavy Infantry
  • 24x Hand Weapon Heavy Infantry
  • 24x Hand Weapon Medium Infantry
  • 24x Spear Levy
  • 16x Archers

Most of this is assembled and on bases, but only the spear levy have any significant amount of paint on them. I have some of the heavy infantry under way to figure out how I want to accomplish the chain-mail & other armor. Right now that is simply black under coat with a metallic drybrush. I think that they will require some more work/layers to really get them to pop.

I’ll try to post some work in progress pics of the spear levy once I can take them.

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

2 thoughts on “Norman Invasion!”

    1. Thanks! I paint them a light brown, or tan color. Then I apply thin layers of wash to make the color get darker near where the shaft is held to give the impression of wear and dirt.

Leave a Reply

