green tide

green tide bottle
nurrrrrr!

Mantic games has some nice pics of some of their new Orc range.  While I have really appreciated what Mantic has been up to over the last several years, I have to say that I have not been very blown away by their models.  Much of it was awfully skinny, and under developed looking.  I have really been impressed at what they have tried to achieve in terms of miniature design, but much of it has simply fallen flat for me.

The Green Tide approaches….

The Green Tide descends…….

These shots of the Orcs are an exception to this.  These are some sharp looking sculpts!  If they can carry this level of detail, and design into the rest of the line, this will be monumental for them.  They have a built in audience, and with GW’s new Orc book release, I think this line could do very well.  My only complaint, and its a small one, is that I feel that they weren’t creative enough with these sculpts (well, primarily the boar-rider).  One thing that I would like to see other manufacturers bring into games is variety, which will expand the world of whatever game they are used in.  In this case, they look a lot like the GW orcs.  For some people that is perfect I am sure, as it will allow them to mix models from the two ranges without any of them seeming out of place.

Great work Mantic!  Keep it up!

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

2 thoughts on “green tide”

Leave a Reply

