Wings!

So this will be a bit of a tease of what is to come for the demonprince, at least until I can take some proper pics. These are the wings for the beastie. Its been interesting to build these, its required a lot of research. I’ve been checking out pics of bird wings (especially skeletons to get the proportions down), and looking at some of the different model wings that are on miniatures that I have. It is actually a great exercise to copy an existing miniature sculpt, and see how close you can get to the original.

Work in progress wing sculpt
Pardon the dag image. Phone-camera.

I decided to sculpt the wings myself partially because I wanted to see if I could meet the challenge, and I was having a hard time finding wings from another kit that were both the correct size, and a style that I liked. These are coming together really well, but man they take forever to sculpt! The feathers really come together when you get them done, but after doing about 1/4 of two wings, I am feeling winded! I suppose it will be good to give the putty time to cure. Getting a thumbprint into the middle of one of these would BLOW!

The other sculpting I have been doing this week has been a pair of folded up sails for a pirate ship! This has been another task of copying another model to some degree. John over at Plastic Legions is running a pirate game at Adepticon this year, and will have some kind of bad-ass pirate ship going on! I am chipping in by making some sails. Arrrrr.

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

3 thoughts on “Wings!”

  1. Im using Greenstuff on the wings. Under the wing is plastic card, with some GS applied along the bone to give them a bit more strength.

Leave a Reply

