The undo option

Sometimes when I’m working on some sculpting, or painting, and I make a huge mistake, I have the reaction of trying to hit CTRL-z to undo the mistake. This is especially so after I’ve been doing serious benders at work (I do interactive, and motion design to pay for the little mens). One of the nice things about working with Greenstuff is that you can easily (not CTRL-z easy) reset a fuck-up.

Often if you are layering putty onto a model, or previous sculpt, and once it has set, you can simply pull it off of the surface you stuck it to. GS’s adhesive properties do exist, but they aren’t as strong as you would think. Recently I was putting some armor plates onto a ogre model, and spaced on the final pass of sculpting, letting the putty totally set up, obviously unfinished. This really wasn’t a big deal as I could pluck the cured putty off of the model with no problem. The model was ready for another try.

The main reason I’m writing about this is that sculptors shouldn’t mind starting over occasionally. One of the main things that keeps people from diving into sculpting is the daunting learning curve – GS has a lot of nutty properties that can be hard to manage at first. Trial and error is a fine way to get valuable experience with sculpting. Don’t be afraid to tear down what you’ve built up!

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

1 thought on “The undo option”

Leave a Reply

