Alignment

For those of you following my blog, and the development of my Chaos army know that, generally speaking, I have kept it focused on Slannesh. Over the last several months of the Fall, I played a pile of games with my Warriors of Chaos, and have started to play with different marks for units. This is leading to a change…

I usually don’t like to parrot internet trends and builds, but I have to admit that I think I have been handicapping myself by worrying about this too much. While I don’t think that I am going to jump up and whip up a 2 Hellcannon, Lvl 4 on a Disc of Tzeentch, I do think that I want to make my army slightly less mark specific.

This is going to require a modification of my paint scheme from purple/pink to something less specific. I have an idea that will make my units feel a bit more open. Luckily, I haven’t painted very much of my army so this isn’t a huge step backwards.

I am particularly excited to try out some Tzeetch, and Khorne builds – both powers that I had avoided in the past. My concern is that unless I go down the GW set schemes for the Chaos powers, I may confuse opponents. One option is to expand on the way I am creating the banners for the units. I’ve designed them to have changeable banners, so that I can create different banner models to represent interesting magic banners, or standards that show, clearly the alignment of the unit. I think it will work out.

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

3 thoughts on “Alignment”

  1. I’ve been tossing that around with my Mutant Marauders for quite awhile. I read some stuff by different GW people quite awhile back, and basically in my opinion they threw out the fluff putting Khorne with Tzeentch and other such combo things together that use to be kind off limits and not used as well as basically throwing out the whole mono-god army ideas. Well I decided that I’m not going to paint up an army that looks like circus candy.

    I’m using a unified paint scheme throughout, what will distinguish them will be the marks and banners. So yea khorne will be blue and orange, so will nurgle, so will undivided, etc. So what if a few players are smart enough to figure out what the symbols mean.

    My point, I like your scheme, it works with your style of minis. Stay with your scheme, use your skill with GS, banners, and paint to mark your models and units. That’s my opinion.

  2. Right on. You put it well. I have to remember that this is my army, and I can do whatever I want with it. I was introduced to the warhammer world in the early 90s when Chaos was very divided, so I kind of still look at things in that way. I am not into the circus candy look either. I really like some of the stuff some Demon players have done with making nurgle fleshounds out of VC direwolves, ect as ways of creating a unified look to an otherwise diverse army.

Leave a Reply

