Chaos Trolls Progress

Here is the most recent work on the Chaos Trolls. I had a game featuring this unit earlier this week. These guys are pretty fantastic in combat. They are very hard to take out in combat, and they can really dish out the pain. It helps that they often get more nasty the longer that the are engaged! As they save hits, they can get one roll on the ‘Eye of the Gods’ gifts chart in the Warriors of Chaos book. Some of these rolls will really buff them up. So far, I usually get several less useful gifts, and one roll of +1 strength. I can’t really complain.

Chaos Troll Conversion Work In Progress

I am changing up the design of their head armor between models a bit.

Chaos Troll Conversion Work In Progress

Chaos Troll Conversion Work In Progress

This guy looks like he is wearing a bowler!

Chaos Troll Conversion Work In Progress

Most of them will have a smaller amount of spines kind of like this guy. I like this look better. The mass of spines was a bit over done on the original pair.

Chaos Troll Conversion Work In Progress

Chaos Troll Conversion Work In Progress

Here is a group shot of the unit of 10 on my work desk. They rank up OK with some messing around.

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

7 thoughts on “Chaos Trolls Progress”

  1. Those are absolutely awesome trolls, beautiful work. Now you got me digging out my book to see what you are talking about, I haven’t used or even thought about using trolls for years.

  2. Thanks for the comments everybody!

    PsyPC, they are pretty great. The are terrifying combat, especially in protracted ones where the gifts start to add up. Initially I felt that their weakness would be lore of fire, or the flaming attack banner, but actually the things that think will really give them trouble are Purple Sun, and Pit of Shades! The only way that I have lost them quickly is when I let my General die, and they blew a LD check on 4 after a lost combat, and fled… and were run down.

  3. Just stumbled onto this blog from a link on Warseer. Had a look over all your Chaos conversions and they’re all brilliantly done. D’you mind if post a couple of pics and links at minisculpture.co.uk about them? ‘Course, you’re welcome to do so yourself, if you’ve got a minute. 😉

Leave a Reply

