Troll Mockup

With the release of 8th ed, I have been giving Chaos Trolls a second look. I kind of liked them in 7th, but with the new charge rules, monstrous infantry, and Stomp attacks, these guys have gotten quite a bit better. I would almost say, that at 45 points a troll, they are under-coasted.

Naturally I am looking forward to building some models for these guys. I am not a huge fan of the exsisting Chaos Troll models. They are alright, but look a bit out of date with the current line, and don’t really fit the vibe of my army. What I have determined to do is to use the plastic chaos spawn kit as a base for the trolls. Here is a rough sketch that I created to explore how I would accomplish this…

Troll Mockup

– Chaos Troll based on a Chaos Spawn model –

I like the new River Troll models that GW put out, but I think that these guys would fit the look of my army a bit more.

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

4 thoughts on “Troll Mockup”

  1. Looks like a good frame to work off of. Only issue might be the rather small waist – but a bit of green stuff should solve that. Will also do will to have a unique look for chaos trolls – their regeneration power should leave them 1 step away from being spawn in the first place.

    Did you give any thought to sculpting from scratch? The body would be relatively easy – but I could see the claws being a bit fragile if made from wire and green stuff.

  2. Interesting. However, I have to say that this guys looks much more like a spawn (I know it’s a mock up) than a troll. You couple probably work that fine, but I think you would need to add a little extra to make them stand out against the spawn option.

  3. I agree with both of you guys. I think that I will mess with their posture a bit, add a gut, and throw some mutations around. I was thinking the same thing that Chaos trolls are so mutated that they are not dissimilar to spawn, but I want them to have their own presence, and not to be mistaken for spawn. One thing that I am going to do is to try to have a general look that all of them have, and mutate from there. There are several things that the GW trolls have in common… Big ears, big nose, and big gut. I may skip the ears, and nose, but again, the tummy is a good idea.

Leave a Reply

