Mutations

Something occurred to me while I was working on the exalted hero model below. One of the things that is missing with chaos in recent iterations of Warhammer Fantasy Battle are the rampant mutations. When I first became involved with this hobby (1989, can you believe it?!?) a big part of the story with the followers of chaos was their tendency to collect mutations as the were led down the path to ruin. These days most of the miniatures are fairly devoid of physical aberrations as a byproduct of their contact with the chaos gods. This idea hasn’t abandoned entirely by the games designers, and definitely not by the gaming community were you can see many excellent examples of converted minis representing heavily mutated chaos minions.

One of the things I’m going to do is to ad some more mutations to the miniatures in my army. Some of the warriors have kept their beastmen legs which is a start. The exalted hero on a steed of slannesh has also inspired me to give a good percentage of the warriors ‘snake bodies’, which was a classic slanneshi mutation from previous incarnations of WHFB. I may add a random extra clawed arm in here and there for good measure. One thing that I want to avoid is to clutter the unit up too much. That would be the opposite of the problem that the stock GW miniatures have with their robotic, ans samey poses.

Watch this space!

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

Leave a Reply

