Update for Slanneshi Chaos Army

I have gotten the chaos army production back into gear! I am attending the Midwest Rampage Tournament at the end of May, so its time to give this project the big push to get the 2250 done! Its going to be quite a challenge for the next month and change, but I think I can do it!

Chariot WIP

There are 2 chariots in my list, and this is one of the two actual chariots in progress. This is based on the Tomb King chariot, heavily modified to accommodate 2 chaos warriors. I like the Tomb King model as a base, as it has a certain elegance to it that will go well with the rest of the Slannesh themed army. As a counterpoint I banged up the wheels a great deal with the dremel to make them look like battered metal, pitted and worn from blazing across the countryside.

I’ve started to nail down the mounts for the chariots as well. These will be chaos spawn like critters that have a Slanneshi vibe, and I believe will tie into the rest of the army quite well.

Sorcerer now with wings!

After tinkering with my list a bunch, I decided to jump on the band-wagon when it comes to sorcerers, and marked this one with Tzeentch. Gamewise, he is equipped with a Disc of Tzeentch as a mount. I decided against setting this guy up with some sort of disc, surfboard thingy, but rather a set of wings. These are from the plastic Pegasus knight kit.

Chaos Warriors WIP

The chaos warriors were a bit of a sticking point for me. The are a core element to the style, and play of the army so it is critical that I really nail them. Recently I was able to capture, more or less the look that I was going for. I feel that the strengths of the prototype come through with these, while also showing some more dynamic posing.

Chaos Warriors WIP

I have 15 of these (1 of 2 units in the list) at this level of completion. I’ve come up with a formula for these which is helping me speed up the modeling phase.

Chaos Warriors WIP

Several of these have face-plates that have another layer coming. I decided to stick with a chaos knight head for the unit champion. It fits the vibe I am going for fairly well, and the horns help him stand out some.

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

2 thoughts on “Update for Slanneshi Chaos Army”

Leave a Reply

