Boy, 500 points sure does go fast…

There are two events coming up that will include Warhammer Fantasy Battle warband rules that I am getting prepared for. The warband rules that are being used at Adepticon, and in our group’s WFB campaign use a 500 point value max, adjusted minimum unit size, and a ban on Lord level characters. I have played some 500 point games in the past, and they can be a lot of fun. They can be very tactical, and give you a situation where you will appreciate the more mundane aspects of the game, and your army. They also tend cause dramatic events that usually only rate as ‘suck’ in a normal game, to become DISASTER in a warband game. Failed fear checks, a round of wiffed dicerolls, simple movement oversights can all seal your fate super quick in warband games.

So what am I going to take to these games? I have been going back and forth about that. Initially I was feeling a Chaos Sorcerer at lvl 2, a pair of cultist units, and a pair of marauder horsemen for some maneuverable punch. I played some small games with a force like this, and I liked the way it ran, but now I am having second thoughts. This army may very well get overwhelmed by shooting from dodgy, evasion armies. Another build could be a large, totally sacrificial block of cultists that are there simply to help get a punchy unit of chaos warriors, with a tricked out Exalted Hero into combat. I am starting to feel this idea more and more, its very chaotic, and will motivate me to get the never-ending chaos warriors completed. Food for thought…

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

Leave a Reply

