Army of Slannesh Update – Marauders, Giant, and Scorcerer WIP

While its been a little bit since I posted images of some of my work on this army, I have been crunching away at it. Most of my time has been working on a way to make my Slanneshi Chaos warriors, and the big, creepy giant. I have also been working on getting my 10 marauder horsemen together. Fianally I found a use for a random miniature that I picked up from Crocodile games of a Nehekuru Wizard. He has become a chaos sorcerer… fitting.

Marauder Horsemen Work in Progress

For these guys I stuck closer to the kit than most things in this army, with the exception of the Chaos Hounds. I think that GW has done better with these than with their Chaos Marauders on foot, which look like out of proportion vikings on steroids. These models smack of that a little, but they pass in my opinion. I still wanted them to look more like they meshed with the theme of my army, and needed some de-skulling (those of you familiar with GW models know what I am talking about).

Marauder Horsemen Work in Progress

Marauder Horsemen Work in Progress

The horse models that accompany these guys are really nice. I did very little modification on them, and am really looking forward to painting them. The thing that makes them work is that they really look like actual horses as compared to many of the equine models made by GW in the past.

The Slannesh marked Giant is going to be a centerpiece in my army. I had a very cool concept in mind for this guy, and how he was going to fit in with the style of the rest of the army. These pictures are still pretty early in the process with this model. There are still large parts of his body to build out, and a lot of armor plates.

Slannesh Giant

The first step I took with this model was to change up his pose some. I did this for two reasons. While I really like the plastic giant kit, I decided that I wanted his pose to be different than that of the standard kit. When you see several of these at a tournament they start to look similar, simply because they have the same basic pose. Changing mine up also allowed me to add some details, and to give him a more aggressive stance.

Slannesh Giant

The hands replaced by gruesome looking weapons is a theme in this army. I think it captures the twisted nature of Slannesh, and it’s minions.

There are several things that I would have done differently with this model if I could go back in time. I believe that I rushed the initial armature of the model, and his pose suffered somewhat because of that. More recent sculpts have benefited from my taking more time with getting the pose to be accurate, and natural. This guy’s leg, and hip positions are a little off. I am pretty happy with the skin, and musculature so far however.

Slannesh Giant

This guy is the first character for my army. I have a lot of ideas bouncing around in my head for the various heroes, sorcerers, and lords that will be part of this army eventually. I want the main characters to be focal points for the greater visual themes I am incorporating. This character will be more of a multi-role spellcaster. The bird feathers on his back, and head could help mark him as a Tzeentch caster for the times I want to branch out slightly from the Slanneshi nature of the rest of the army. I will probably paint him to be a bit more neutral, not only to make his allegiance less fixed, but also to help him stand out from the rest of the army.

Slannesh Giant

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

One thought on “Army of Slannesh Update – Marauders, Giant, and Scorcerer WIP”

  1. WOW! loving the giant! I agree, they do all tend to look the same, but with the amount of work you have put in on that guy, he looks great already. You sure know how to use your green stuff! 😀

Leave a Reply

