Chaos Cultists – Work in Progress

Here are some shots of my Chaos Cultists for my WHFB Warriors of Chaos army. These guys represent chaos marauders. I’ve never been into the body-building-metal-viking-guy look, so I wanted to come up with a different way to handle this unit. I also like the idea that many of Slanneshi followers come from cults around the warhammer world.

I used the Empire Flagellents kit to base these models on. The bare heads from the marauder horse, with some flayed skin masks made from greenstuff adds the gory character I wanted this unit to have – I like my chaos to be creepy. The flails are somewhat customized as well to fit the look I am going for when this unit is done, which the GW flails don’t usually capture.

Chaos Cultist Regiment

Slannesh cultist unit WIP

Chaos Cultist Group

Chaos Cultist

Chaos Cultist

The flail cords are made from steel wire twisted with a power drill. I wanted to have more dynamic poses for these weapons than I felt the models originally came with.

Chaos Cultist

This model will become the unit champion. Hand weapon and shield will be his equipment to help him stand out from the guys with flails.

Chaos Cultist Musician

This is the unit’s musician. I forgot to cut out an area in his mask for his mouth to show, I will have to do that so the notion that he has a war-horn isn’t too weird.

Next steps… Heads on the flails, cord positioning, greenstuff gap-filling, flash trimming, some further details here and there.

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

5 thoughts on “Chaos Cultists – Work in Progress”

  1. looking awesome you are the greenstuff man..I still can’t a smooth finish on my GS work it’s frustrating.

    How many of these guys are you doing?
    what will the flail heads be?
    whats the base material almost looks like wax?

  2. Thanks John! I really need to get as comfortable with painting as I am with sculpting. Next time I am out at your place remind me and I can give you some pointers.

    This unit is going to be 20 cultists, and the flail heads are going to be blade/barb/hook things. I am taking a lot of inspiration from the Skorne paingivers from Hordes. The base material is supersculpy. Check out my basing article for details.

    https://xenite.wordpress.com/modeling-painting-and-hobby-articles/making-scenic-bases-for-miniatures/

    I think that it looks like wax because of the lighting from the shot. It is pretty translucent stuff.

  3. These look really good, I’ve been looking for some good cultist mins for my RPG but there doesnt seem to be much around so might build some like these. Have you got any updated pictures?

    1. I have been doing a lot more sculpting lately, and will have to get some more pics up once I get some finished. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

