Tiger Tank

My German Flames of War army is evolving in such a way that I have several units that I can use in different armies. This Tiger tank that I finished up last night is a good example of this. I can use it to add some muscle (and distraction) to either my Fallschirmjager force, or my Panzer company.

flames of war tiger tank painted by xenite

This model is also the test bed for several new techniques that weren’t used on the StuGs I had painted earlier. This started the same way with an undercoat of Vallejo Green Brown, and then a base coat of Middlestone. After this I added a wash of Middlestone (60%)/Black(10%) /gel medium(10%)/water(20%). Once this wash was dry, I picked out detail, and did some dry brushing.

flames of war tiger tank painted by xenite

flames of war tiger tank painted by xenite

Camo, and battle damage was done the same way as the StuGs. The camo brown is a bit different on this model.

This is essentially the method that I intend to use on my entire Panzer Company.

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

2 thoughts on “Tiger Tank”

    1. All of my German tanks are painted with Vallejo Middlestone (I think that is the color they recommend for dunklegelb – anyway all of the colors that come with the flames of war, German paint set were used here), and then washed with a mix of middlestone, German gray, and water (2:1:5 more or less). Once this is dry I drybrush the tank with Middlestone to pop up some of the details. The camo was done by painting on successive layers of watered down green or brown blotches. Doing several layers that overlap inconsistently creates a look that looks like paint sprayed onto the tank. One of the Flames of War ‘Art of War’ books has a great article on it (you can probably track it down on their website). After the camo was applied I did the weathering, added another layer of drybrushed Middlestone, and picked out some of the details with some Middlestone mixed with white (2:1). Let me know if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

