Defined paint schemes

I am pretty happy with the choices that I made for the color scheme, and method for my Tyranids.  I had another idea about painting groups of minis the same scheme that I think that I am going to try out.  I am going to premix the various levels of highlight that I am building up and save decent sized quantities of them in air-tight containers.

This green to tan color scheme has about 6 -7 layers of color changing before I pop out the final highlights with tan mixed with a little white.  These I am going to premix which will hopefully help speed up the assembly line of painting multiple miniatures.  Also, this will allow me to take breaks from this project without worrying about scheme consistency.

I figure that I will do this pretty much only for the greater areas of the miniatures, not the detail area’s such as the red bits around the mouth, or the claws.  Those are pretty simple to replicate in any case.  This will help me with using glazes to blend the highlights a bit as well.  It will be easy to simply water down some of the previous color’s paint for the glaze.  I was stumped for a while as to how to add this to a painting process without adding a bunch of steps.

Time for another test stealer I guess.

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

Leave a Reply

