Gencon 2007

I went to Gencon again this year, and as I usually do, I had a blast. While I didn’t have any scheduled events, and failed to do most of the demos that I wanted, I still had a great time cruising the convention, meeting people, talking shop (smack), and hanging out with friends who I attend the convention with every year that I go. I was able to try out several of new games this year including Samurai, and Tannhauser, both of which are a lot of fun, and I recommend them highly. Other than some purchases and feelings of painting inadequacy checking out company’s display minis (Privateer Press has some of the most amazing samples of painting skill that I have ever seen), this con was fairly light on miniature related activities for me.

Some of the amazing minis in the Privateer Press display booth.

I played a both frustrating, and fun of Hordes with Felix, my Trollbloods taking on his Circle of Oroboros puppies. The game was very good, and challenging. The only downside was that I was hounded by some awful dice rolling that was a bit of downer. It was good to hang out a lot with both my Chicago crew, as well as my old group from Michigan over the weekend.

Felix trying out Anima Tactics.

I spent the rest of my time helping out at the Gamer Concepts booth slinging t-shirts, which is always an adventure! Sadly I missed the miniature painting competition this year, and wasn’t able to make it to the sculpting gathering to visit with Sandra Garrity and company. I am still in a mode of hyper inspiration that I tend to have after Gencon, and if I can get things squared away with an apartment move at the end of the month, I will try to tap it to get some work done on some of my miniature projects. All in all the time went by way too fast, but it was time well spent.

Author: xenite

I am an avid gamer, sculptor, and artist. The creative aspect of this hobby is what really draws me to it. :)

5 thoughts on “Gencon 2007”

Leave a Reply

